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APPLICATION FOR CONCEALED FIREARM PERMIT 
 

GENERAL INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS 
FEES – ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE AND MUST BE EXACT CHANGE 
 
Initial Application: Fees totaling $100.25 in the form of cash, personal check, cashier’s check or money 
order must be submitted with your application.  This fee includes fingerprint processing. 
 
Renewal Application: Fees totaling $65.25 in the form of cash, personal check, cashier’s check or money 
order must be submitted with your application.  This fee includes fingerprint processing. 
 
Duplicate Permit: A $15.00 fee must be submitted for a duplicate permit in the event of a change of 
address, name change, or if the permit is lost, stolen or destroyed.  

INSTRUCTIONS – COMPLETION OF YOUR APPLICATION 
 
Please read and follow all of the instructions listed below.  Incomplete application(s) may result in an undue 
delay and possible rejection of your application.  Inquiries which are necessary to facilitate completion of 
your application should be directed to:  
 
Pershing County Sheriff’s Office 
CCW Processing 
395 9th St 
PO Box 147  
Lovelock, NV 89419 
775-273-2641 
 
If you have been convicted of a felony as described in Section 202.360, Nevada Revised Statutes, you must 
submit a certified copy of the court document restoring your civil right to own, possess or use a firearm.  If 
your specific right to own, possess or use a firearm has not been restored or if you cannot provide proof of 
restoration of these rights, you are NOT eligible for a concealed firearm permit. 
 
You must demonstrate competency with a firearm by presenting a certificate or other documentation that 
shows that you have successfully completed a training course on the use of your firearms(s).  This training 
course must include instruction in the use of a firearm to which your application for permit to carry a 
concealed and in the laws of the state relating to the proper use of a firearm.  This training must be completed 
within the 12 months prior to the date of your application for your initial permit or your application for the 
renewal of your existing permit.  This requirement may be met in one of the following ways: 
 

(a) Successful completion of a course taught by a certified instructor who is properly licensed to 
provide this service and approved by this agency.  The documentation you present must include a 
copy of your certificate of training and the Firearm Proficiency Certification. 

(b) Successful completion of a course in firearm safety offered by a federal, state or local law 
enforcement agency, community college, university or national organization that certifies 
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(c) instructors in firearm safety.  You only need to qualify with one semi-automatic and/or revolver 
to carry any semi-automatic or revolver with a valid CCW. 

 
A sheriff may not approve a course in firearm safety unless he determines that the course meets any standards that are 
established by the Nevada Sheriff’s and Chief’s Association, or if the Nevada Sheriff’s and Chief’s Association cease to 
exist, its legal successor. 

PROCESSING AND ISSUANCE 
 

Please allow up to 120 days for processing of your completed application.  The Pershing County Sheriff’s 
Office is dependent on the F.B.I. to return the records checks.  A permit will not be issued without a clear 
record check from the F.B.I.  Incomplete applications cannot be processed and/or may not be accepted. 

 
Upon approval of your application, you will be notified and required to come to the sheriff’s office to be 
issued your Concealed Firearm Permit.  If your application is denied, you will be notified and informed of 
the reasons for the denial. 

TERM OF PERMIT  
 

A permit issued by the Pershing County Sheriff’s Office to carry a concealed firearm expires 5 years from 
the date of issuance unless other wise stated, suspended or revoked for cause.   

CHANGE OF ADDRESS, LOST, STOLEN OR DESTROYED PERMITS 
 

You must notify the sheriff in writing within 30 days if your permanent address changes or if your permit is 
lost, stolen or destroyed.  You will be issued a duplicate permit if you: 

1) Submit a written statement to the sheriff, signed under oath, stating that your permit has been lost, 
stolen or destroyed, and: 

2) Pay a non-refundable re-issuance fee of $15.00 
If you subsequently find or recover your permit after being issued a duplicate you must, within 10 days, 
notify the sheriff in writing and return the duplicate permit to the sheriff.  If you fail to make the 
aforementioned notification as indicated you may be subject to a civil penalty of $25.00. 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 

Page | 3 
 

CARRYING OF PERMIT 
 
NRS 202.3673 Permittee authorized to carry concealed firearm while on premises of public building; 
exceptions; penalty. 
 
  1.  Except as otherwise provided in subsections 2 and 3, a permittee may carry a concealed firearm 
while the permittee is on the premises of any public building. 

2.  A permittee shall not carry a concealed firearm while the permittee is on the premises of a public 
building that is located on the property of a public airport. 

3.  A permittee shall not carry a concealed firearm while the permittee is on the premises of: 
        (a) A public building that is located on the property of a public school or a child care facility 
or the property of the Nevada System of Higher Education, unless the permittee has obtained written 
permission to carry a concealed firearm while he or she is on the premises of the public building pursuant to 
subparagraph (3) of paragraph (a) of subsection 3 of NRS 202.265. 
        (b) A public building that has a metal detector at each public entrance or a sign posted at each 
public entrance indicating that no firearms are allowed in the building, unless the permittee is not prohibited 
from carrying a concealed firearm while he or she is on the premises of the public building pursuant to 
subsection 4. 

4.  The provisions of paragraph (b) of subsection 3 do not prohibit: 
       (a) A permittee who is a judge from carrying a concealed firearm in the courthouse or 
courtroom in which the judge presides or from authorizing a permittee to carry a concealed firearm while in 
the courtroom of the judge and while traveling to and from the courtroom of the judge. 
        (b) A permittee who is a prosecuting attorney of an agency or political subdivision of the 
United States or of this State from carrying a concealed firearm while he or she is on the premises of a public 
building. 
        (c) A permittee who is employed in the public building from carrying a concealed firearm 
while he or she is on the premises of the public building. 
        (d) A permittee from carrying a concealed firearm while he or she is on the premises of the 
public building if the permittee has received written permission from the person in control of the public 
building to carry a concealed firearm while the permittee is on the premises of the public building. 

5.  A person who violates subsection 2 or 3 is guilty of a misdemeanor. 
6.  As used in this section: 

       (a) “Child care facility” has the meaning ascribed to it in paragraph (a) of subsection 5 
of NRS 202.265. 
        (b) “Public building” means any building or office space occupied by: 
               (1) Any component of the Nevada System of Higher Education and used for any 
purpose related to the System; or 
              (2) The Federal Government, the State of Nevada or any county, city, school district 
or other political subdivision of the State of Nevada and used for any public purpose. 
 
 If only part of the building is occupied by an entity described in this subsection, the term means only 

that portion of the building which is so occupied.   
(Added to NRS by 1995, 2725; A 1997, 63; 1999, 2767; 2007, 1914) 

 
 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/nrs-202.html#NRS202Sec265
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/nrs-202.html#NRS202Sec265
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Statutes/68th/Stats199514.html#Stats199514page2725
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Statutes/69th/Stats199701.html#Stats199701page63
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Statutes/70th/Stats199917.html#Stats199917page2767
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/Statutes/74th/Stats200716.html#Stats200716page1914
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ELIGIBILITY 
 
You are not eligible for a permit to carry a concealed firearm under the laws of the State of Nevada if you: 

(a) Are not at least 21 years of age. 
(b) Do not provide the required documentation to demonstrate competence with a firearm. 
(c) Have an outstanding warrant or warrants for your arrest. 
(d) Have been judicially declared incompetent or insane. 
(e) You have been voluntarily or involuntarily admitted to a mental health facility during the preceding 5 

years. 
(f) Have habitually used intoxicating liquor or controlled substance to the extent that your normal 

faculties are impaired.  It is presumed that you have used intoxicating liquor or controlled substance 
if, during the immediately preceding 5 years, you have been:  
1) Convicted of violating the provisions of NRS 484C (driving under the influence): or 
2) Committed for treatment pursuant to NRS 458.290 to 458.350, inclusive (substance abuse). 

(g) Have been convicted of a crime involving the use or threatened use of force or violence against a 
person which is punishable as a misdemeanor under the law of this or any other state, or a territory or 
possession of the United States at any time during the immediately preceding 3 years. 

(h) Have been convicted of a felony in this state or under the laws of any state, territory or possession of 
the United States. 

(i) Have been convicted of a crime involving domestic violence or stalking, or you are currently subject 
to a restraining order, injunction or other order for protection against domestic violence. 

(j) Are currently on parole or probation from a conviction obtained in this state or in any other state, 
territory or possession of the United States. 

(k) Have, within the immediately preceding 5 years, been subject to any requirements imposed by a court 
of this state or any other state or territory or possession of the United States as a condition to the 
courts. 
1) Withholding of the entry of judgment for your conviction of a felony: or  
2) Suspension of your sentence for the conviction of a felony 

(l) Have made a false statement on any application for a Concealed Weapon permit or for the renewal of 
a Concealed Weapon permit. 

(m) Are not a resident of Pershing County, if applying as a Nevada resident. 
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☐  Initial Application  ☐  Renewal Application 

Please type or print in BLACK INK 
Full Name (Last, First, and Middle): Home Phone: 
 
 

Cell Phone: 

Physical Address (Number, Street, Apt. #, City, State, Zip Code): 
 
 
Mailing Address (If different from above): 
 
 

Business Phone: 

Country of Citizenship: 
 

Place of Birth: Alien Number: Alien Expiration: 

Date of Birth: 
 

Race: Sex: Height: Weight: Hair: Eyes: Social Security #: Scars, Marks, Tattoos: 

Occupation: 
 

Name and address of Employer: 

Answer each question by placing a check mark in the appropriate box. 
1.Are there currently any outstanding warrants for your arrest?...................................................................................................................................... ☐ Yes     ☐ No 
 
2.Have you ever been judicially declared mentally incompetent or insane?................................................................................................................... ☐  Yes    ☐ No 
 
3.have you ever been admitted to a mental facility?........................................................................................................................................................ ☐ Yes     ☐ No 
 
4.During the 5 years immediately preceding the date of this application, have you been convicted of driving 
under the influence of alcoholic or controlled substance in this or any other state?....................................................………………………………… ☐ Yes     ☐ No 
 
5.During the 5 years immediately preceding the date of this application, have you habitually used intoxicating 
liquor or narcotics to the extent that your normal faculties were impaired?.................................................................................................................... ☐ Yes     ☐ No 
 
6.During the 5 years immediately preceding the date of this application, have you been committed for treatment 
of the abuse of alcoholic beverages in this or any other state?......................................................................................................................................... ☐ Yes     ☐ No 
 
7.During the 5 years immediately preceding the date of this application, have you been committed for treatment 
of, or convicted of a crime related to controlled substance in this or any other state?..................................................................................................... ☐ Yes     ☐ No 
 
8.During the 3 years immediately preceding the date of this application, have you been convicted of a crime 
involving the use or threatened use of force or violence punishable a misdemeanor?..................................................................................................... ☐ Yes     ☐ No 
 
9.Have you ever been convicted of a felony in this state or any other state?................................................................................................................... ☐ Yes     ☐ No 
 
10.During the 5 years immediately preceding the date of this application, have you been subject to any  
requirements imposed by a court as a condition to the courts withholding the entry of judgment or suspension of 
a sentence, for the conviction of a felony?....................................................................................................................................................................... ☐ Yes     ☐ No 
 
11.Have you ever been convicted of a crime involving domestic violence or stalking in this or any other state?.......................................................... ☐ Yes     ☐ No 
 
12.Are you currently subject to a restraining order, injunction or other order for protection against domestic 
violence in this or any other state?.................................................................................................................................................................................... ☐ Yes     ☐ No 
 
13.Are you currently on parole or probation for a conviction in this or any other state?................................................................................................. ☐ Yes     ☐ No 
 
14.Have you ever renounced your United States Citizenship?......................................................................................................................................... ☐ Yes     ☐ No 
 
15.Have you been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces?............................................................................................................................. ☐ Yes     ☐ No 
DO NOT WRITE IN THIS AREA.  FOR POLICE AGENCY USE ONLY. 
PCN ________________________________________ BIN_______________________ CCW # __________________________ 
RIMS ID# ____________________________________ SID _______________________ NICS___________________________ 
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List all residences, starting with your current address, for the past 10 years (5 years for renewal). 
  Dates of Residency 
Address (Including Apt. #): City and State: From: To: 
1.    
2.    
3.    
4.    
5.    
6.    
7.    
8.    
9.    
10.    
List all other names used (including First, Middle, Last, and maiden name). 
1. 3. 
2. 4. 
 
 
 
THIS APPLICATION IS EXECUTED UNDER OATH.  FALSIFICATION OR MISREPRESENTATION OF ANY PART 
OR NAY PART OF ANY DOCUMENT SUBJECTS THE APPLICANT TO DENIAL OR REVOCATION OF THE 
PERMITFOR WHICH THIS APPLICATION IS SUBMITTED. 
 
Before me this day personally appeared            , 
   Name of Applicant 
was being duly sworn, deposes and says: 
 
I DO HEREBY SWEAR AND AFFIRM UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY THAT THE FOLLOWING ASSERTIONS 
ARE TRUE AND CORRECT: 
 

A. The information contained in this application and all attached documents are true and correct to the best of my 
knowledge. 

B. I agree to immediately notify the issuing agency Concealed Weapons Unit if charged, arrested, or convicted of any crime 
int eh this state or under the laws of any state, or territory or possession of the United States. 

 
Date:     X       
          Signature of Applicant 
 
 
 
TYPE OF IDENTIFICATION PRODUCED 
 
Driver’s License Number:       Exp. Date:      State:    
 
Identification Card Number:      Exp. Date:      State:    
 
Sheriff’s Employee Signature:        Personnel Number:     
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WAIVER AND AUTHORIZATION TO RELEASE INFORMATION 
 
TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN: 
 
I authorized you to furnish the Pershing County Sheriff’s Office with any and all information that you have 
concerning me, my employment records, my reputation, my mental health condition, and my military service 
records.  Information of a confidential or privileged nature may be included.  Your reply will be used to 
assist the Sheriff’s Office in determining my qualifications and suitability for a Concealed Firearms Permit. 
 
In compliance with Federal Confidentiality Rules (42 CFR, Part 2), this waiver includes the release of 
medical records for the admission and discharge dates to a mental health facility for treatment of mental 
health. 
 
In addition to the above requested information, you may release arrests, detentions, field citations, field 
interview cards, officers’ records, jail/custody booking records, traffic citations, and traffic accident 
information, district attorney records, court records, reports, probation and parole reports and records, 
laboratory reports and results, and any other criminal justice records, reports or information source. 
 
This authorization and request are given freely and without duress, voluntarily waiving any protection 
against unauthorized disclosure of information under the Privacy Act and any other legal provisions, and 
with the understanding that information furnished will be used by the Pershing County Sheriff’s Office in 
conjunction with my application for a Concealed Firearms Permit. 
 
I hereby release you, your organization and others from any liability or damage which may result form 
furnishing the information requested, including any liability pursuant to any state or local code or ordinance 
or any similar laws.   
 
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Nevada, that the foregoing is true and 
correct. 
 
Applicant’s Name:              
   (PLEASE PRINT LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE) 
 
Address:               
 
Applicant’s Signature:        Date:       
 
 
Submitting Agency: Pershing County Sheriff’s Office        
Address: PO Box 147   Lovelock, NV 89419          
Agency Representative: Tamara Davis, Sheila Perez, Valiree Phillips or Rocio Perez 
       PLEASE PRINT NAME  
Agency Representative Signature:        Date:      
 
 
NOTE:  A PHOTOCOPY REPRODUCTION OF THIS REQUEST SHALL BE, FOR ALL INTENTS AND PURPOSES, 
AS VALID AS THE ORIGINAL.  YOU MAY RETAIN THIS FORM FOR YOUR FILES. 
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TO: LAKE TOWNSHIP JUSTICE COURT         
 
The individual listed below has applied with the Pershing County Sheriff’s Office for a Concealed Firearm 
Permit.  We are currently conducting a background investigation to determine if the applicant: 
 

a) Has any outstanding warrant(s) for arrest 
b) Has been judicially declared incompetent or insane 
c) Has been voluntarily or involuntarily admitted to a mental health facility during the immediate 

preceding 5 years 
d) Has habitually used intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance to the extent that his/her normal 

faculties are impaired 
 
As per Nevada Revised Statute 202, if you are aware that this individual has been charged with a crime 
involving the use or threatened use of force or violence, is currently subject to an order restraining their 
conduct, an injunction or any other order for protection against domestic violence, such a permit may be 
denied.   
 
If you are aware of any reason this applicant should NOT be issued a Concealed Firearm Permit, please 
forward a sworn Affidavit indicating the facts regarding the recommendation for denial. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Jerry Allen, Sheriff 
 

Waiver and Authorization to Release Information 
 
I hereby release your organization and others from any liability or damage which may result from 
furnishing the information requested, including any liability pursuant to any state or local code or 
ordinance or any similar law. 
 
Applicant:        SSN:       DOB:     
 
Applicant Signature:               
 
Witness Signature:           ID #:      

  No record found    Record found, copies attached 
 
Signature:          Date:        
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TO: ELEVENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT CLERK       
 
The individual listed below has applied with the Pershing County Sheriff’s Office for a Concealed Firearm 
Permit.  We are currently conducting a background investigation to determine if the applicant: 
 

e) Has any outstanding warrant(s) for arrest 
f) Has been judicially declared incompetent or insane 
g) Has been voluntarily or involuntarily admitted to a mental health facility during the immediate 

preceding 5 years 
h) Has habitually used intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance to the extent that his/her normal 

faculties are impaired 
 
As per Nevada Revised Statute 202, if you are aware that this individual has been charged with a crime 
involving the use or threatened use of force or violence, is currently subject to an order restraining their 
conduct, an injunction or any other order for protection against domestic violence, such a permit may be 
denied.   
 
If you are aware of any reason this applicant should NOT be issued a Concealed Firearm Permit, please 
forward a sworn Affidavit indicating the facts regarding the recommendation for denial. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Jerry Allen, Sheriff 
 

Waiver and Authorization to Release Information 
 
I hereby release your organization and others from any liability or damage which may result from 
furnishing the information requested, including any liability pursuant to any state or local code or 
ordinance or any similar law. 
 
Applicant:        SSN:       DOB:     
 
Applicant Signature:               
 
Witness Signature:           ID #:      

  No record found    Record found, copies attached 
 
Signature:          Date:        
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TO: LOVELOCK POLICE DEPARTMENT         
 
The individual listed below has applied with the Pershing County Sheriff’s Office for a Concealed Firearm 
Permit.  We are currently conducting a background investigation to determine if the applicant: 
 

i) Has any outstanding warrant(s) for arrest 
j) Has been judicially declared incompetent or insane 
k) Has been voluntarily or involuntarily admitted to a mental health facility during the immediate 

preceding 5 years 
l) Has habitually used intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance to the extent that his/her normal 

faculties are impaired 
 
As per Nevada Revised Statute 202, if you are aware that this individual has been charged with a crime 
involving the use or threatened use of force or violence, is currently subject to an order restraining their 
conduct, an injunction or any other order for protection against domestic violence, such a permit may be 
denied.   
 
If you are aware of any reason this applicant should NOT be issued a Concealed Firearm Permit, please 
forward a sworn Affidavit indicating the facts regarding the recommendation for denial. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Jerry Allen, Sheriff 
 

Waiver and Authorization to Release Information 
 
I hereby release your organization and others from any liability or damage which may result from 
furnishing the information requested, including any liability pursuant to any state or local code or 
ordinance or any similar law. 
 
Applicant:        SSN:       DOB:     
 
Applicant Signature:               
 
Witness Signature:           ID #:      

  No record found    Record found, copies attached 
 
Signature:          Date:        
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FINGERPRINT BACKGROUND WAIVER 
 
As an applicant who is the subject of a Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) fingerprint-based criminal 
history record check for a noncriminal justice purpose you have certain rights which are discussed below.   
 

1. You must be notified by the Pershing County Sheriff’s Office that your fingerprints will be used to 
check the criminal history records of the FBI and the State of Nevada. 

 
2. If you have a criminal history record, the officials making a determination of your suitability for the 

job, license or other benefit for which you are applying must provide you the opportunity to complete 
or challenge the accuracy of the information in the record.  You may review and challenge the 
accuracy of any and all criminal history records which are returned to the submitting agency.  The 
proper forms and procedures will be furnished to you by the Nevada Department of Public Safety, 
Records Bureau upon request.  If you decide to challenge the accuracy or completeness of your FBI 
Criminal history record, Title 28 of the Code of Federal Regulations Section 16.34 provides for the 
proper procedure to do so:  

 16.34 – Procedure to obtain change, correction or updating of identification records.  If, 
after reviewing his/her identification record, the subject thereof believes that it is incorrect or 
incomplete in any respect and wishes changes, corrections or updating of the alleged 
deficiency, he/she should make application directly to the agency which contributed the 
questioned information.  The subject of a record may also direct his/her challenge as to the 
accuracy or completeness of any entry on his/her record to the FBI, Criminal Justice 
Information Services (CJIS) Division ATTN: SCU, Mod, D-2, 1000 Custer Hollow Road, 
Clarksburg, WV 26306.  The FBI will then forward the challenge entry.  Upon the receipt of an 
official communication directly from the agency which contributed the original information, 
the FBI CJIS Division will make any changes necessary in accordance with the information 
supplied by that agency. 

 
3. Based on 28 CFR § 50.12 (b), officials making such determinations should not deny the license or 

employment based on information in the record until the applicant has been afforded a reasonable 
time to correct or complete the record or has declined to do so.   

 
4. You have the right to expect that officials receiving the results of the fingerprint-based criminal 

history record check will use it only for authorized purposes and will not retain or disseminate it in 
violation of federal or state statute, regulation or executive order, or rule, procedure or standard 
established by the National Crime Prevention and Privacy Compact Council. 
 

5. I herby authorized the Pershing County Sheriff’s Office to submit a set of my fingerprints to the 
Nevada Department of Public Safety, records Bureau for the purpose of accessing and reviewing 
State of Nevada and FBI criminal history records that may pertain to me.  In giving this authorization, 
I expressly understand that the records may include information pertaining to notations of arrest, 
detainments, indictments, information or other charges for which the final court disposition is 
pending or is unknown to the above referenced agency.  For records containing final court disposition 
information, I understand that the release may include information pertaining to dismissals, acquittals, 
convictions, sentences, correctional supervision information and information concerning the status of 
my parole or probation when applicable. 
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6. I herby release from liability and promise to hold harmless under any and all causes of legal action, 
the State of Nevada, its officer(s), agent(s) and/or employee(s) who conducted my criminal history 
records search and provided information to the submitting agency for any statement(s), omission(s), 
or infringement(s) upon my current legal rights.  I further release and promise to hold harmless and 
covenant not to sue any persons, firms, institutions or agencies providing such information to the 
State of Nevada on the basis of their disclosures.  I have signed this release voluntarily and of my 
own free will.   
 

A reproduction of this authorization for release of information by photocopy, facsimile or similar process, 
shall for all purposes be as valid as the original. 
 
Applicant’s Name:              
   (PLEASE PRINT: Last, First, Middle) 
 
Address:               
 
Applicant’s Signature:             
 
Date:        
 
Submitting Agency: Pershing County Sheriff’s Office        
 
Address: PO Box 147, Lovelock, NV 89419          
 
Agency Representative: Tamara Davis, Sheila Perez, Valiree Phillips or Rocio Perez 
 
Agency Representative’s Signature:            
 
Date:        
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FINGERPRINT FORM 
Date: 

Name: 
Last:  First:  Middle Name: 

Social Security Number:  

Place of Birth (State Only):   

Country of Citizenship:  

Date of Birth:   

Gender:  

Race:   

Height:    Feet    Inches 

Weight:  

Eye Color:   

Hair Color:   

Employer’s Name:   

Employer’s Address:   

Occupation:   

Your Physical Address:  

Telephone/Cell phone Number: 

Agency Requesting Fingerprints: 

DO NOT WRITE BELOW THIS LINE 

 PCN: 
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